On September 17, 2005, District 27 Administrator Joe Nartowicz announced the creation of the Laura & Van Scott Scholarship at the annual League President and Outstanding Volunteer Awards banquet. The award recognizes the many contributions and years of service of Laura and Van to the Little League programs in southeastern Pennsylvania.

Shortly after relocating to southeast Pennsylvania, Van and Laura took to Little League as one of the ways to channel their energies as well as to give something to the community. The Scotts were founding members of Pottstown Little League with Van serving as the first league president and Laura serving on the League Board. Both continue to serve the Pottstown Little League Board in various capacities. During their time at Pottstown, Van and Laura also served as Assistant District Administrators under Tony Marra in PA District 23. In 1993, District 23 was split into 3 districts with Van taking the District Administrator position and Laura taking the Financial Coordinator position for District 27. Over the next eleven years, these two were the heart and soul of PA District 27 spending countless hours in organizing and managing the affairs of District 27. Van and Laura stepped down from their district responsibilities in 2004 but still remain very active in Pottstown Little League.

Through donations and good fiscal management, the scholarship award since 2010 has been increased $1,000. The scholarship is available to one baseball and one softball participant from PA District 27 each year. Please click here for the scholarship application. Complete and forward to:

Suzanne Battaglia; C/O Laura & Van Scott Scholarship; 49 Yale Road; Havertown, PA 19083 or email to mailbox@PADistrict27.org

Year Baseball Softball
2006 Hans Van Mol (Berwyn-Paoli)  
2007 Justin Herman (Exton) Valerie Heffline (Pottstown)
2008 Riley Harsh (Great Valley) Patricia Martin (Berwyn-Paoli)
2009 Chris DiNardo (Berwyn-Paoli) Hannah Dinsmore (Radnor-Wayne)
2010 Jack Hontz (Great Valley) Kristen Loomis (Upper Providence)
2011 Alexander Abdalla (Pottsgrove) Katy Burke (Exton)
2012 Kyle McCorkle (Exton) Rachel Gadbow (Exton)
2013 Alexander Krause (Great Valley) Alexa Birtwistle (Radnor-Wayne)
2014 Nicholas Irvin (Pottstown) Paige Espenshade (Exton)
2015 Troy Gartner (Berwyn-Paoli) Claire Kraft (Upper Providence)

Back to District Home